reports latest Appointments of Directors, Dean & Leadership positions at Top B-schools

Add Review

Updated on
January 28, 2023

These are challenging yet exciting times for Leaders in the Management Education Sector with the rapid changes business and technology. Change and Innovation in an Institutional setup requires Vision, Energy, Focus, and buy-in from different stakeholders. acknowledges vital roles leaders play in improving management education. To highlight key appointments of Directors, Dean and other Leadership positions at B-schools and Universities in India, we have created this dedicated section on and our Newsletter. To share such updates, please email us at: [email protected] & [email protected]


New Appointement

Prof Bharat Bhasker appointed as new IIMA Director
In January 2023, Appointment of Prof Bharat Bhaskar as Director of IIM Ahmedabad was announced. Dr Bhaskar succeeds Prof Errol D’Souza who has successfully completed his term as IIMA director in Jan 2023. Prof Bhaskar is to take charge as the IIMA Director on March 1, 2023. Currently a Professor of Information Technology and Systems at IIM Lucknow, Prof Bhaskar, has served a five-year term as the Director of IIM Raipur from March 2017 to March 2022. Before joining IIM Raipur, he was associated with IIM Lucknow for over two decades and had served in various capacities including being the acting Director of IIM Lucknow for a period of five months during July and November 2015. He has also served as the Dean Planning & Development at IIM Sirmaur from 2003 to 2005. Prof Bhaskar has been a Visiting Professor at ESSEC Business School, Paris, France and University of Texas, Dallas, USA. He was a Distinguished Professor at Chung- Ang University, Seoul, Korea; was a Research Professor at University of California, Riverside, USA and Adjunct Faculty at Information Systems, Univ. of Maryland, College Park. A B.E. (Electronics & Comm.), Roorkee, he has earned his M.S. & Ph.D (Computer Science) from Virginia Tech, USA


Dr. Rajesh Chakrabarti appointed as Dean, LM Thapar School of Management
In January 2023, Dr. Rajesh Chakrabarti was appointed as the Dean, LM Thapar School of Management, and Director, Dera Bassi Campus and Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences at the well-known Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology (TIET). Before joining TIET, he was Director and Professor at MDI, Gurgaon. Earlier he was the Dean at the Jindal Global Business School at the OP Jindal Global University (JGU). Dr. Rajesh Chakrabarti has taught Finance and Public Policy for over two decades – at the University of Alberta, Canada, Georgia Tech, USA and the Indian School of Business (ISB). He was the founding Executive Director at the Bharti Institute of Public Policy at ISB's Mohali campus. Rajesh is an alumnus of Presidency College, Calcutta and IIM Ahmedabad and earned his PhD from the University of California, Los Angeles.


Table: Appointments of Directors, Dean


Designation, B-school/University

Past Affiliations

Prof Bharat Bhaskar

Appointed as Director, IIM Ahmedabad effective March 1, 2023. Currently, Faculty at IIM Lucknow

Director, IIM Raipur; Faculty IIM Lucknow; Dean Planning & Dev, IIM Sirmaur

Prof. Rajesh Chakrabarti

Dean, LM Thapar School of Management; Director, Dera Bassi Campus & Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology (TIET)

Director, MDI Gurgaon; Founding Executive Director, Bharti Institute of Public Policy, ISB Mohali Campus

 Also Read: IIM Ahmedabad Announces Appointment of Prof Bharat Bhaskar as its New Director; To Take Charge from March 1, 2023